Open Nav
Sign In

The Mistmantle Chronicles

Published by Hyperion Books for Children
5 Total Books

This is a sequential series and is best read in order.

Where did it start? Mistmantle began with a little girl learning a hymn about the sea surrounding the earth like a mantle. Decades later I wanted to write about an island, the mantle around this island would be its enchanted mists. I imagined a hero who had been exiled from the island for a crime he didn’t commit, and now the island needed him back yet he couldn’t get home.

Then I was stuck. I couldn’t get anything to come to life after that. Someone suggested that the island should be populated with animals, not people, and Mistmantle burst into life. Squirrels ran up and down tower walls, hedgehogs made beautiful needlework, otters whirled through streams on secret missions, moles ran through tunnels and guarded royalty. There were dark plots and terrible dangers. There was fun and color, and stars dancing across the sky. And there was Urchin.

What happened next? Read it!

From the pen of M.I. McAllister


Spines with dust jacket
Spines without dust jacket
Cover with dust jacket
Cover without dust jacket
Example page

Books in this Series

Urchin of the Riding Stars
Urchin and the Heartstone
The Heir of Mistmantle
Urchin and the Raven War
Urchin and the Rage Tide

Share this series on Pinterest:

The Mistmantle Chronicles


Adventure awaits

To those who believe what you read is just as important as reading itself, Biblioguides gives you the resources and tools to discover the right book for the right person at the right moment.

Your next book journey begins here.

Learn More